Baker Mayfield wins Walter Camp Award

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield has won the Walter Camp Award as the player of the year in college football.

The Sooners star captured the award over Stanford‘s Bryce Love, Penn State‘s Saquon Barkley, San Diego State‘s Rashaad Penny, and last year’s winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville.

The 6-foot-1, 220-pounder was a dominant performer all season, throwing for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns against five interceptions. He also added 310 yards on the ground and five scores to lead the Sooners to the Big 12 title and a spot in the College Football Playoff against Georgia.

Mayfield is the runaway favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, and if history is any indication, the fact he’s won the Walter Camp is an encouraging sign. The last four players to win the award have also taken home the Heisman just days later.

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

Source: The Score

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *