Decade of destruction: Only 3 SEC teams have accomplished what Alabama has this season

Undefeated starts to seasons have become a way of life for Alabama under Nick Saban. But for schools across the SEC, they’re still a rarity.

So much so, that the rest of the SEC has only pulled off 10-0 starts three times since 2007, while this season is the fifth time Alabama’s achieved the feat. Florida in 2009, Auburn in 2010 and LSU in 2011 are the only other times a 10-0 start has been recorded in the SEC since 2007.

Alabama has won at least 10 games in each of the last 10 seasons under Saban, who overall in his 11th season at Bama is 129-19. In his pre-Alabama career, Saban only won at least 10 games two other seasons: In 2001 and 2003 at LSU.

After the national championship two seasons ago, Saban joined former Alabama legend Paul “Bear” Bryant as the only coaches in the poll era to win five national championships. Last year, he also became the third-fastest coach to reach 200 wins in major college football history when Alabama beat LSU.

Source: Saturday Down South

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *