Florida to celebrate 10-year anniversary of championship team

Chris Leak by Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images 2007 BCS National Championship Game: Florida v Ohio State

Florida fans may not have known it at the time, but 10 years ago the Gators were on the cusp of a national championship season under second-year coach Urban Meyer.

The 2006 Florida football team, which featured an experienced Chris Leak at quarterback supplemented by a young freshman named Tim Tebow, played its way into the history books that season by beating Ohio State in the BCS national championship game.

On Thursday, Florida revealed that it will welcome that group of players back to Ben Hill Griffin Stadium this fall as a part of its homecoming ceremony.

The Gators will honor the 2006 team on Oct. 15 when they host Missouri in The Swamp.

“I’ll get to see guys I haven’t seen in years and I’m going to love that,” former Florida LB Brandon Siler said. “You always miss playing the game, but one of the thing you really miss the most is the locker room, being around the guys and that camaraderie. I’m looking forward to getting a little of that again.”

Siler will be there, and Florida reports that invitations will go out to Leak, Tebow, wide receiver Percy Harvin, defensive lineman Jarvis Moss and all the rest of the 2006 squad.

The team will be honored with a banquet prior to the game and then will be recognized on the field before the game against the Tigers begins.

The post Florida to celebrate 10-year anniversary of championship team appeared first on SEC Country.

Source: SEC Country

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *